2011 Independent Spirit Award Winners

Saturday, February 26, 2011 at 7:08 pm

The 2011 Independent Spirit Awards took place earlier today in Santa Monica, California. Hosted by Joel McHale (TV’s Community) and broadcast on the IFC cable network, the show was all about honoring the best and brightest in the indie film scene. But that’s nothing new, as they’ve been doing so ever since debuting in 1984 as the FINDIE Awards.

Presenters for the event included Ben Stiller, Diego Luna, Paul Rudd, Anna Kendrick, John Waters, Josh Radnor, Eva Mendes, and Kerry Washington.

In case you missed out on the excitement, here’s a list of the 2011 Independent Spirit Award winners. As you might have guessed, winners are listed in bold print.

Best Feature

Best Director

Best Male Lead

Best Supporting Male

Best Female Lead

Best Supporting Female

Best Screenplay

Best First Screenplay

Best Cinematography

Best Documentary

Best Foreign Film

Best First Feature

John Cassavetes Award (recognizing the best film made for under $500,000)

Robert Altman Award (recognizing the best ensemble cast)

Truer Than Fiction Award (recognizing director of non-fiction films)

Producers Award (honors emerging film producers)

Someone to Watch Award (recognizing a director who’s yet to receive significant attention)

That wraps up our look at the 2011 Independent Spirit Award winners. If you’ve still got a hankering for some award-related goodness, be sure to check out these other fine articles from Only Good Movies:

This entry was posted on Saturday, February 26th, 2011 at 7:08 pm and is filed under Movie News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

2 Responses to “2011 Independent Spirit Award Winners”

Leave a Comment

February 27, 2011


I really like Black Swan movie, this movie is the best movie that I’ve ever seen.

This movie-Black Swan is bracingly intense, passionate, and wildly melodramatic movie.

March 1, 2011


yeah you r right black swan is best……

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *